[COVERAGE] FTHX FTIsland Live in Singapore Press Conference

FTIsland are finally back in Singapore after 2 years and they are here to hold their 6th Anniversary concert here! On the day of the Press conference, it was FTIsland’s leader Jong Hun’s birthday too! The boys appeared in Black & White suits and Hongki in shades. Jong Hun was really calm throughout the whole conference, Hongki was on his best smile, Min Hwan was really quiet only speaking his thoughts when asked or when the other members especially Jaejin tease him. Jaejin was ‘clapping’ to whatever was said technically and well I would say his clapping isn’t supportive but more of sarcastic claps. Seung Hyun joins occasionally in Jaejin’s clapping, teasing other members and smiling (though mostly of the time he was just stoning). Below is the transcript for the Press Conference.

MC: Let’s welcome FTIsland in! Welcome guys! I’m sure that you guys are really excited to be here. Why don’t we get everyone of you to say hi to our Singapore media over here?
All: Hello we are FT Island.
MC: Alright. Why don’t we have each and every one to say hi to the Singapore fans, since you haven’t seen them for a while?
Seung Hyun: Hello introduce myself, my name is Seung Hyun. Thank you. Good Day
Jae Jin: Hi, I’m Jae Jin.
Min Hwan: (speaks in Korean) Hello, I’m Min Hwan.
Hong Ki: Hello I’m Hong Ki
Jong Hun: Hello I’m Jong Hun.
MC: It’s been 2 years since Ft Island has been in Singapore and you will be performing for us and I think a lot of us are really really looking forward to your concert tomorrow at the FTHX Event. So how do you feel about coming back to Singapore to perform?
Hong Ki: It definitely feels very good. One thing that I am very excited is the fact that Korea is very very cold at the moment, so it’s nice to be in a warm country like Singapore. But it’s really too hot here. Because the weather is too hot, I turned on the aircon a bit too strong so it feels like my cold is coming back so I’m a little bit worried.
MC: Or you can wear less. Sexy.
HK: The stylist told me to dress up for the press conference so I hope I look good today.
MC: You look fantastic.
Hong Ki: Thank you thank you. I know I know.
(Laughs)
MC: The concert is happening tomorrow at the Singapore Indoor Stadium. We are really excited about it. Can you tell us if there is any special performance we can be expecting?
Hong Ki: We were asked this questions a lot while we were on our Asia tour. The special thing about this tour is that we actually organized this entire tour on our own so we do have our ideas incorporated in the tour and concerts. I hope you guys enjoy and relax yourself while listening to the music. And it’s going to be a standing concert so I hope you guys go crazy and enjoy the whole event.
MC: That is for sure. Have you actually prepared any special segment just for the fans in Singapore?
Jae Jin: Min Hwan can answer.
Min Hwan: Yes, Jae Jin can answer.
(Laughs)
Jae Jin: Not to say that it is something specially for the Singaporean fans, but because we feel thankful to all the fans that we meet, by us trying to perform our best on stage and giving our best, it is the biggest thing we can offer to our fans and I hope you will be able to see that tomorrow.
MC: Every performance is going to be a special performance and that’s what we are looking for. It’s been 6 years right, since FT Island has been out and since your debut album, you have been getting really really good results. 6 years is actually a pretty long time, so how do you feel about being in the band for these 6 long years?
Hong Ki: Exactly is 8 years. There were many things happening- good things and bad things. It was definitely not an easy start given the fact that we were the first few idol bands in Korea so there were definitely ups and downs. Because we are new, it took time to become what we are now. As we move on to a later stage of our career, we definitely think that we can work on something we really want to do like music that we can really put our soul into. I hope that you guys will look forward to it and enjoy the music we will be producing in the future.
MC: So what is one of the toughest challenges that you guys had to face during your time together?
Hong Ki: There is just too many. But it would probably be the stereotype that we had received from the public.
MC: We are excited to know about the future goals of FT Island. What is happening next for FT Island?
Hong Ki: It would definitely be the next album because it would be the first album where all the members’ ideas and taste of music are incorporated into it. But we don’t know how much the audience will like it so there is a bit of happy anticipation and at the same time, a bit of concern. But I do hope you guys will look forward to seeing our next album.
MC: I know that your Japanese single will be coming up soon, so can you tell us a bit about the Japanese album?
Hong Ki: No comment about that.
MC: No comment? Alright so we will just look forward to your brand new launch in April right?
Hong Ki: It may not be April.
MC: Alright, we will just look forward to it with a lot of anticipation. Can I just say that today is a really special day because it’s Jong Hun’s birthday. Have you guys planned anything special for him?
Hong Ki: Actually, there is something Jong Hun had prepared for us in return but I can’t really say that we like it that much.
MC: We are really happy to have FT Island here with us today. The energy is pretty high right now. For our media, do you have any questions for FT Island?
Media: Hi, this is a follow up question. Just now he mentioned one of the toughest parts is stereotyping so could Hong Ki just explain what he means?
Hong Ki: Because we had our debut at a very young age, many people had thoughts like “even though you are really good in instruments, but is that all you’ve got? How long can you last in this industry?”. All these stereotypes and doubts they had on us are challenging and it was a little sudden.
MC: But what is important is that after 6 years, they eventually overcome the stereotypes and they are on stage right now as a really really successful band and I think that is what really matters.
Media: Hi, happy birthday to Jong Hun. We know that he has been working out so tomorrow, at the concert, will you be showing your fans any part of your body?
Jong Hun: Yes, I’ve been working out but I can’t really say that I’m ready at the moment so I’ll probably not reveal myself even though it’s my birthday.
MC: Can we have one more question?
Media: Jae Jin you sang the song “Into My Heart” for the drama “Bride of the Century” which Hong Ki starred in. Have you watched the show and how would you recount to that?
Jae Jin: (claps hand) Because I sang the OST, when I first watched the drama and heard my singing, I was definitely fascinated and I did follow up all the drama series. At the first two episodes, I feel that Hong Ki’s acting was a little awkward because he had been some time since he acted. But from the third episode onwards, he was better. I didn’t really see much of his chic side he had in his daily life. I think he managed to get into the role.
Hong Ki: I just want to mention that those around me may think that the way I act shows a different side of me but for somebody who just knew me, I think that it (the acting) is pretty natural. HAHAHAH
MC: I’m sure you are very natural. Before our press conference comes to an end, can I have each and every one of you to say something to your fans in Singapore after not seeing them for so long?
Seung Hyun: It has been 2 years and we love coming to Singapore not just because of the fans but the country itself is so lovely and we enjoy coming here. It feels like we are on a holiday so I think we really enjoy this trip and at the same time we hope that we will be able to have a good show tomorrow and everyone can enjoy themselves.
MC: Thank you so much. Can we have the rest to say something as well?
Jae Jin: Min Hwan, Min Hwan, Hey Min Hwan. I haven’t been in Singapore for the past 2 years because of a programme. It was good to see all my fans asking “when will FT Island have their concert again in Singapore? “ I know that they are anticipating us to return to Singapore. So I hope tomorrow would be a good show for everybody
Min Hwan: I hope that it would be a good show tomorrow. To those female fans that are going to wear heels to the concert, it will be a bit difficult so we encourage you to wear sneakers when you’re coming to the concert and enjoy our music.
Hong Ki: Tomorrow you don’t need to bring the flags, just bring yourself and the towels that we had. And also, yes, wear sneakers and drink lots of water. Your legs and arms are going to be very tired so get ready for it and go crazy and enjoy.
Jong Hun: Today is a very happy day. We are very happy to be here in Singapore and I hope we can have a great day tomorrow.

And the conference ended with a photo time before the boys head off for their Hi-touch event with ticket-holders at Square 2. The conference was one of the best I’ve ever attended, even though it was a-bit short. But it started almost on time and there were drinks and some food for the media. I can’t wait to see the boys in Singapore again! Kpress Singapore would like to thank ONE PRODUCTION for the invite.

To view the photos of the event, click the link below:
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.706590186058059.1073741842.253229304727485&type=1

Coverage and Photographs by: Joey
Transcript by: Sandra

Leave a Reply

